Type Working Paper
Title Swaziland
Page numbers 213-253
URL http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/viewdoc/download?doi=
he Kingdom of Swaziland covers an area of 17,364 square kilometers
bordered on the north, west, and south by the Republic of South
Africa and on the east by Mozambique. The two major towns or cities
are Mbabane, the capital city, and Manzini. The 2007 census put the population
at 1.02 million, including 0.54 million females and 0.48 million males.
About 78 percent live in rural areas and 22 percent in urban areas (Swaziland,
Ministry of Economic Planning and Development 2007).
The majority of the rural people in Swaziland depend on cash income for
survival strategies. Rural agriculture is insufficient to meet all food needs, but
agricultural production provides a vital supplement to other food sources as
well as employment opportunities during peak agricultural seasons (such as for
weeding and harvesting).

Related studies