Australasia and Pacific Ombudsman Institutions

Type Book Section - Vanuatu: Ombudsman
Title Australasia and Pacific Ombudsman Institutions
Publication (Day/Month/Year) 2013
Page numbers 283-293
Publisher Springer
The Republic of Vanuatu is a small state consisting of more than 80 islands, most of them inhabited. In 1906 it came under rule as Anglo-French “New Hebrides Condominium” and gained independence from its protecting powers in 1980. It is a parliamentary democracy with a unicameral system. The 52 Members of Parliament are elected through universal suffrage every 4 years. The President is elected for a 5-year term by an electoral college consisting of the Members of Parliament and the Presidents of the Provincial Councils.

Related studies